Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Today-I-Am-Thankful

“To be able to still struggle is a privilege, ironic as it sounds but it is true. This is the time where you can still try and struggle. After that, even if you want to, you can’t struggle for the same thing anymore.”

I chanced upon such a text message from a year ago and surprisingly my heart felt a little warmer as I re-read it again and again.

Every year without fail, this very special friend of me will drop me a text on my birthday. We aren’t the sort of friends who talk everyday, sometimes we even left conversations hanging in mid air. We merely updated each other’s lives occasionally and surprisingly enough, this friend always found the right words to say at the right time, even in birthday texts.

Last year it was to “let go of what people think of us” while this year this pal told me to “experience all the thrills because 19 if the age to live slightly dangerously”. Words of a NS man indeed? HAHAHA. Be it crazy coincidences or anything along the line, those seemingly trivial words of his became my pillar and support at instances throughout the year.

Because when one can’t afford to be physically to you, words were the next best alternative. It was exactly such a case for me. For that alone, I am thankful beyond words.

He is one quirky character in which at times his thoughts made one wonder if a 100 year old soul live inside him while his words sounded childish and blunt like a 7 year old.  He is ironic and possibly bipolar ( okay maybe not that extreme) but is nonetheless a genuine and altruistic friend.

Turning 19 today is this special pal of mine and I thank all the gods for his birth to this world. Thank you for teaching me the real world definition of gratitude, thank you for appreciating my nonsense, thank you for standing by me all these while, thank you for giving me strength and thank you for being born.

 

Leave a Reply

