I really hate penchés

“Generally speaking, the most miserable people I know are those who are obsessed with themselves; the happiest people I know are those who lose themselves in the service of others…By and large, I have come to see that if we complain about life, it is because we are thinking only of ourselves.”

Gordon B. Hinckley
Pulling through a full run through of advance 1 syllabus meant a great feat to me. It was certainly some vigorous work out but what surprised me the most was my own competitiveness; and the result which followed. I could no longer feel my legs after having completed centre work but somehow I desperately wanted to pull through pointe work as far as I can.
Why?
Because it will be embarrassing if I can’t do it.
I was glad it ended off relatively well and for once I felt satisfied with my consecutive pose turns ( I can’t even do a proper one for ages). The next question is if I’m up for the exam next year.
There are a million and one things to be worked on and I know it better than anyone else how far my standard is from the required one.
Rather than willpower, courage is what I need most but I can’t seem to find it.

Leave a Reply

