Rise and Fall

Partly the reason why I enjoyed my stint in Youth.SG was that I learnt how to love. Saying ‘I love you’ out loud was something I struggled with, actually I still do now. But more importantly, I have come to learn that everyone requires and appreciates a different form of comfort. And so it has dawned on me that the comfort I have been providing to others, which I deemed it as my style, might not have been a form of condolence or empathy. This recognition has thus prompted me to express my concern more vocally and even at times through action. While I wouldn’t say I am comfortable with providing such comfort to everyone out there, I would say that I’m trying to get used to it.

“One of the most important milestones I ever reached in my life was accepting that people won’t always love you the way you want them to.”

Leave a Reply

